SFO: MoAD in the Neighbourhood

I’m always thrilled when I see my city-making and museum interests intersect.

Today I saw the Museum of African Diaspora were partnering in off-site programming while their space was being renovated.  They called it “MoDA in the Neighbourhood” and I had seen similar examples of when the Exploratorium had been closed for renovations.

In the old days of QMX, a notion of “Museum Without Boundaries” floated around, and still is an area I’m keen to see.  I’m pretty interested in anything outside the walls of a museum that can contribute to a city’s wider culture and sense of neighbourhood.   It seems a perfect way to enliven neighbourhoods, build partnerships and collaboration, and bring the museum to new locations and audiences.

While it makes much sense during building works….how about just doing it all year round?!!

IMAG1761 IMAG1762

Leave a Reply

