Wifi in BCC Parks

In New York, I managed to never pay for wifi and in that became accutely aware of access to it in public, semi-public and private realms.  I found this in other cities as well.  Sometimes it was annoying and unreliable, but I got good at using libraries, cafes, McDonalds, Apple Stores, stealing unsecured connections and borrowing it off friends.

I had found some in outdoor public spaces like in Bryant Park.  Brisbane City Council too have been testing it in parks here – City Botanic Gardens and New Farm Park.

I like the idea, and of working outside –  expect I always found the ability to have laptop power for hours would trump my choices.  Libraries always won the wifi game for me for this reason.  Wifi in public space is a good idea and exploration, nonetheless. 

Shame like with most good Council things- I always wonder if anyone knows about this??!!  This trial ends in Feb.

http://www.brisbane.qld.gov.au/facilities-recreation/parks-gardens/WiFiinparks/index.htm

Leave a Reply

